Council of General Synod 2013 – 2016

The Council of General Synod is the executive body of General Synod. It considers and reports upon any matters referred to by the Primate or the General Synod.

Thank you to the members who served during the 2013 to 2016 triennium.

“May the Holy Spirit, who has begun a good work in you,
direct and uphold you in the service of Christ and his kingdom”

(Prayer from Re-affirmation, p. 162, Book of Alternative Services)

2013 – 2016 Council of General Synod members. Photo: General Synod Communications

Primate (Chair)The Most. Rev. Fred Hiltz
ProlocutorThe Ven. Dr. Harry Huskins
Deputy ProlocutorMs. Cynthia Haines-Turner
ChancellorCanon David Phillip Jones, Q.C.
Vice-ChancellorMs. Ann Bourke
General Secretary (ex-officio)The Ven. Dr. Michael Thompson
TreasurerMs. Hanna Goschy
ChaplainSr. Elizabeth Rolfe-Thomas
Elected Members
British Columbia and Yukon
BishopThe Rt. Rev. Larry Robertson
ClergyThe Ven. Dr. Lynne McNaughton
LayMs. Melissa Green
Dr. Donald Wilson
YouthMr. Alex Starr
Province of Canada
BishopThe Most Rev. Percy Coffin
ClergyThe Rev. Karen Egan
LayMr. James Sweeney
Ms. Jennifer Warren
YouthMs. Antoinette Lynch-Joseph
Province of Ontario
BishopThe Rt. Rev. John Chapman
ClergyThe Very Rev. Peter Wall
LayCanon Robert Falby ( July 2013 – May 2015)
Mr. David Embury (Nov. 2015 – Mar. 2016)
Ms. Haroldine Neil-Burchert
YouthMr. Noel Platte
Rupert's Land
BishopThe Rt. Rev. Jane Alexander (July 2013 – May 2015)
The Rt. Rev. Adam Hackett (Sept. 2015 – Mar. 2016)
The Rt. Rev. Lydia Mamakwa
ClergyThe Ven. Canon Terry Leer
LayMs. Marion Jenkins
Mr. Tony Teare
Ms. Tannis Webster
YouthMs. Amanda Lucien
Anglican Military Ordinariate of CanadaL. Col., the Rev. Marc Torchinsky
Anglican Council of Indigenous PeoplesThe Ven. Sidney Black
The Rev. Norm Casey (July 2013 – May 2015)
The Evangelical Lutheran Church in CanadaMs. Pat Lovell
The Episcopal ChurchMrs. Martha Gardner (Nov. 2013 – Nov. 2015)
Canon Noreen Duncan (Mar. 2016)
Primate's World Relief and Development FundThe Rev. Laura Marie Piotrwicz